/ News

The Finnish Film Week culminated with an award ceremony at Restaurant Dubrovnik September 25. In the annual ceremony, Finnish filmmaker organizations award successful filmmakers among their members.

In this year’s ceremony, hosted by actress Mari Rantasila, the following prizes were awarded: Film Producer of the Year, Screenwriter of the Year, Colleague of the Year, Film Director of the Year, Documentary Award, and Actor of the Year. This year there were also two novel prize categories: Designer of the Year for Costume Design or Scenography, which was awarded to designer Marjatta Nissinen, and Light of the Year award from the Finnish Society of Cinematographers, which went to Pertti Mutanen.

The Film Producer of the Year Award went to the producer duo behind the film Concrete Night (Betoniyö), Mark Lwoff and Misha Jaari. The colleagues praised their exceptional, internationally acknowledged art-house film that carefully follows the story with emphasis on cinematography and quality.

Finnish Playwrights and Screenwriters Guild awarded Kirsikka Saari as the Screenwriter of the Year for being “the brightest star among the screenwriters this year, whose debut feature film Korso was a critical success and whose Oscar nomination for her short film Do I Have to Take Care of Everything? (Pitääkö mun kaikki hoitaa?) was a great achievement.”

Finnish Film and Media Professionals awarded Sari Aaltonen as the Colleague of the Year. She was described as a fair and honest colleague, as well as a solid professional, with a great sense of humour, who is capable to manage every situation.

The Association of Finnish Film Directors awarded Pirjo Honkasalo as Film Director of the Year. Honkasalo is among the most noted Finnish directors internationally, an artist who has followed her own path throughout her career. According to her colleagues, Concrete Night (Betoniyö) is a vital masterpiece, a pure film from the master of Finnish cinema.

The Documentary Guild’s Documentary Award was given to a director, who, with his film Presidentintekijät, provided a glimpse into the world normally out of bounds for the general public. Also, the director Tuukka Temonen showed great dedication as a director and a private person during and especially after the filmmaking process.

The Union of Finnish Actors awarded Anu Sinisalo as the Actress of the Year for her role in the film No Thank You (Ei kiitos). Sinisalo was praised for her bright, glowing personality, which combined with her great professional skills enabled her to make an annoying character believable and touching.

This year, The Finnish Film Week was organized for the fifth time by The Central Organisation of Finnish Film Producers and other Finnish filmmaker organizations: The Documentary Guild, Finnish Playwrights and Screenwriters Guild, Theatre, Film and Television Designers, The Finnish Society of Cinematographers, The Association of Finnish Film Directors, Finnish Film- and Media Professionals, and Union of Finnish Actors in collaboration with Helsinki International Film Festival – Love & Anarchy.

(Picture from Pirjo Honkasalo’s Concrete Night)