/ News

The European Film Academy has announced the titles of the 47 films on this year’s selection list, the list of films recommended for a nomination for the European Film Awards 2012. 17 films selected into the HIFF 2012 programme are on the list. In the coming weeks, the 2,700 members of the European Film Academy will vote for the nominations in the different award categories. The nominations will then be announced on November 3rd at the Seville European Film Festival in Spain. The award ceremony will take place on December 1st.

The HIFF films on the list are:

The Angels’ Share (UK/France/Germany)
Avalon (Sweden)
Caesar Must Die (Italy)
Sister (Switzerland/France)
Faust (Russia)
Unit 7 (Spain)
Policeman (Israel)
In Darkness (Germany/Poland/Canada)
Intouchables (France)
Rust and Bone (France)
Iron Sky (Finland/Germany/Australia)
A Royal Affair (Denmark)
The Parade (Serbia)
Paradise: Love (Austria/Germany/France)
Tabu (Portugal/Germany/Belgium/France)
In the Fog (Russia/Germany/Latvia/The Netherlands/Belarus)
Naked Harbour (Finland)

In addition, Once Upon a Time in Anatolia and Sons of Norway from the HIFF 2011 programme are on the list.

Unit 7 by Spanish director Alberto Rodriguez has also been shortlisted as one of three Spanish films to be considered for an Oscar submission in the Academy Award for Best Foreign Language Film category.

European Film Academy

Image from the film Unit 7